Here Are the 12 Most Common Misdemeanors People Get in Oregon
Staying out of trouble with the law isn’t that difficult if you aren’t actively committing crimes. We wanted to see what the most common misdemeanors were in Oregon. Some on this list are actually surprising.
Knowingly or recklessly causes physical injury to another. Also includes criminal negligence with a deadly weapon and serious physical injury to vulnerable users of a public way with your car.
Using or threatening to use of violence or other criminal means to harm the physical person, reputation, or property of any person, including sexual harassment.
Stealing stuff that has a total property value of $100 or more and less than $1,000.
Stealing stuff that has a total property value of less than $100.
You have an 0.08 percent or more by weight of an intoxicant in your blood, as proved by a chemical analysis of the breath or blood. Includes liquor, cannabis, psilocybin, controlled substances, and/or inhalants.(Note: There is no legal cannabis THC limit in Oregon.)
Driving a vehicle recklessly on the highway in a manner that endangers the safety of persons or property.
Causing public inconvenience, annoyance or alarm, or recklessly creating a risk by:
Engaging in fighting or in violent, tumultuous or threatening behavior, making unreasonable noise, disturbing any lawful assembly of persons, obstructing road and/or pedestrian public traffic, initiating or creating false public alarm with regard to fire, explosion, crime, catastrophe or other emergency, creating hazardous or physically offensive condition without lawful permission. Also includes doing any of the above within 200 feet of a funeral service.
If you are charged with resisting arrest, you can’t tell a judge that whoever arrested you had no lawful authority. If you prevent your arrest in any way and/or cause bodily injury to the person arresting you, that’s a misdemeanor crime in Oregon.
Giving false sworn and unsworn statements or declarations in a court of law
You already know your license is suspended (or revoked) yet you get out there and drive anyway. Sometimes, people don’t actually know that their license has been suspended or revoked. This also applies if you are violating a hardship driver’s permit issued by the Oregon Department of Transportation.
Includes bladed knives, dagger, ice pick, slingshot, metal knuckles, or any similar instruments to cause injury to a person or their property. (Note: This law does not apply to law enforcement trying to arrest you.)
Statutory rape and any sort of sexual contact with a person under age 18, including oral and anal sex.
To see a list of the fines for misdemeanors in Oregon, click here.
Got a news tip? Email us here.
POPULAR STORIES TRENDING NOW:
- 9 Slang Words Californians Say People, Like, Totally Use in WA
- This Aberdeen Bartender Was One of WA's Creepiest Serial Killers
- This Is the #1 Deadliest Roadway and Highway in WA State
- 10 Easiest Ways We Can Tell You Are From Definitely from Oregon
- Top 20 Most Favorite Restaurants That Spokane Locals Love
- Tiny Tacoma Diner Makes List for Best Breakfasts in the Nation